Contact: Ben Shelton (
September 27th, 2014

Jack Sullivan Conquers Midsouth Dirt Track Championship

Little Rock, Arkansas (09/27/14) –The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) presented by Lucas Oil put a wrap on the 2014 season on Saturday night at I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, Arkansas) with the 8th Annual Midsouth Dirt Track Championship, and it was Jack Sullivan, who cashed in his chips for the $2,500 win.

While a veteran claimed the win, it was a rookie that paced the action early in the 40 lapper as New Vision Graphics pole sitter, Gavin Landers led the way for the first eight circuits. By lap 9 though, fifth starting, Jack Sullivan shot past Landers into the top spot. With Sullivan leading the way other drivers were on the move with twelfth starting, Timothy Culp quickly finding his way into the top five as he set his sights on the leader.

Culp would look to be poised to make a charge at the top spot before a late-race caution negated his momentum. Culp would ultimately settle into the runner-up spot as Jack Sullivan led the field across the finish line for his tenth career win with the tour.

"It's no big secret that this has been a tough year for your team, so it feels real great to come back home to I-30 Speedway and pick up the win," said Sullivan. "Thanks to all of the fans and sponsors, who have continued to support us."

Shannon Scott raced to a third place finish, which allowed him to clinch the Kuntz & Co. Rookie of the Year title over Rick Hearnsberger. Brandon Smith and Tommy Surrett rounded out the top five finishers in the series final event of the year.

Gavin Landers won GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 with Brandon Smith winning Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2.  Jack Sullivan raced to victory in ROCKHARD Powder Coating Heat Race #3, while Shannon Scott won Woodco Inc. Heat Race #4. 

Clay Fisher and Robert Baker raced to victory in the Boston's Sports Bar & Restaurant twin b-mains. 

Patrik Daniel received the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award for advancing through the pack from the eighteenth starting spot to a seventh place finish, while Clay Fisher was the recipient of the Keith Craft Racing Engines Hard Luck Award after being collected in multiple incidents not of his own doing.

Kyle Beard claimed the series title for the second straight year despite having to retire from a top five run late in the race with vibrations on his #86 entry.

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil has now concluded their 2014 season and would like to thank all of their great fans, teams, and sponsors for their amazing support. The 2015 slate is currently being finalized and will be released in the next few months. Please stay tuned to for the latest series news.

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Racing Tires, Kuntz & Company, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Quarter Master, Allen Manufacturing, GRT Race Cars, Woodco, Inc., New Vision Graphics, ROCKHARD Powdercoat, Inc., Mark Martin Kia, Keith Craft Racing Engines, SRC Sampson Racing Radios, Beach Veterinary Services, Killer Coatings, MSR Marketing Services, Racing Head Service, BSB Manufacturing, Five Star Bodies, Boston's Restaurant and Sports Bar Pizza,, Schoenfeld Headers, Surrett Contracting, Powerhouse Products, and FSR Racing Products.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit .
COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – September 27th, 2014
8th Annual Midsouth Dirt Track Championship
I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, Arkansas)
Feature Results
1) Jack Sullivan (Greenbriar, AR)
2) Timothy Culp (West Monroe, AR)
3) Shannon Scott (Henryetta, OK)
4) Brandon Smith (Floral, AR)
5) Tommy Surrett (Little Rock, AR)
6) Robert Baker (Bryant, AR)
7) Patrik Daniel (Wills Point, TX)
8) Anthony Burroughs (Minden, LA)
9) Chandler Petty (Austin, AR)
10) Lynnsee Provence (Little Rock, AR)
11) Rick Hearnsberger (Arkadelphia, AR)
12) Clay Fisher (Dewitt, AR)
13) Joseph Long (Bryant, AR)
14) Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR)
15) Garrett Alberson (Las Cruces, NM)
16) Ray Moore (Haughton, LA)
17) Gavin Landers (Batesville, AR)
18) Ronny Adams (Longview, TX)
19) David Payne (Cabot, AR)
20) Keith Craft (Arkadelphia, AR)

DNS: Jason Botsford, Lynn Beach, Cody Kierre, Arlen Stewart, Shane McCloud, Michael Sellers, Randy Barnard, Casey Findley, Lee Davis, Michael Stratton, Jake Davis
Entries:  31
GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 Winner:  Gavin Landers
Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 Winner:  Brandon Smith
ROCKHARD Powder Coating Heat Race #3 Winner: Jack Sullivan
Woodco Inc Race #4 Winner:  Shannon Scott
Boston's Sports Bar & Restaurant B-Main Winners: Robert Baker, Clay Fisher
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Gavin Landers
Keith Craft Racing Engines Hard Luck Award: Clay Fisher
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Patrik Daniel (18th-7th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Jack Sullivan
Leaders: Gavin Landers (1-8); Jack Sullivan (9-40)
Cautions: 3
Red Flag: 0