Contact: Ben Shelton (
July 5th, 2014

Bub McCool Completes the Sweep of CCSDS Action at Greenville

Greenville, Mississippi (07/05/14) – Bub McCool snared his second career win with the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) presented by Lucas Oil in as many nights on Saturday evening at Greenville Speedway (Greenville, Mississippi), but the victory came far from easy.

Current track point leader, Duke Palasini, capitalized on the bad luck of the evening’s fast qualifier, Brian Rickman, to win GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1, which earned him the New Vision Graphics Pole Award for the $2,000-to-win feature with Friday night’s winner, Bub McCool, joining him on the front row for the 35 lap finale. Palasini jumped to the lead and looked to be poised to lead the first lap, but a bobble exiting turn four allowed Bub McCool and Rick Rickman to race past for the top two spots.

By lap 6 the leaders were in lapped traffic, and the first of four cautions flew on lap 8 for a Rick Hearnsberger spin. Another caution marred lap 9, but on lap 10 Rick Rickman used the low line to shoot past McCool for the lead as the Vicksburg, Mississippi driver bounced off the topside wall in turn four.

Behind the leaders good battles raged with Palasini, Stacy Taylor, Tommy Surrett, and Kyle Beard all contending for top five spots.

The final caution of the event flew on lap 16, and on the ensuing restart Rickman again motored away from McCool. However, McCool wasn’t done as he caught the leader by lap 24 as the duo rocketed past the flag stand side-by-side. The Mississippi drivers continued to go door to door until McCool used a slide job in turn four on lap 28 to snare the lead.

Once out front McCool stretched his advantage as Rickman began to battle a rapidly deflating tire. As the white flag flew Rickman began to slow with tire issues as Kyle and Tommy Surrett raced into the podium spots. At the finish line McCool won by a straightaway over Beard, Surrett, Taylor, and Palasini, while Rickman dropped to a disappointing eighth place finish.

"I just couldn't make that bottom work like Rick (Rickman) could," said McCool in victory lane. "I just had to bounce off that wall on the high side and hope for the best, and luckily it worked."

Brian Rickman started the night’s festivities by registering the fastest lap in Group A and overall with a 14.553 second lap around the gumbo oval. Friday night’s quick qualifier Bub McCool was fastest in Group B with a 14.652 second lap.

Duke Palasini won GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 with Rick Rickman winning Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2. Bub McCool raced to victory in ROCKHARD Powder Coating Heat Race #3, while Tommy Surrett won Woodco Inc. Heat Race #4.

The Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award went to Randy Bernard for passing seven cars to finish thirteenth, while Brian Rickman was the recipient of the Keith Craft Racing Engines Hard Luck Award after mechanical issues sidelined him while leading the first heat race.

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil competitors return to action next Friday night, July 11th with a $2,000-to-win/$350-to-start event at North Central Arkansas Speedway (Yellville, Arkansas). For more information on North Central Arkansas Speedway please visit .

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Racing Tires, Kuntz & Company, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Quarter Master, Allen Manufacturing, GRT Race Cars, Woodco, Inc., New Vision Graphics, ROCKHARD Powdercoat, Inc., Mark Martin Kia, Keith Craft Racing Engines, SRC Sampson Racing Radios, Beach Veterinary Services, Killer Coatings, MSR Marketing Services, Racing Head Service, BSB Manufacturing, Five Star Bodies, Boston's Restaurant and Sports Bar Pizza,, Schoenfeld Headers, Surrett Contracting, Powerhouse Products, and FSR Racing Products.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit .
COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – July 5th, 2014
Greenville Speedway (Greenville, Mississippi)

Feature Results
1) Bub McCool (Vicksburg, MS)
2) Kyle Beard (Trumann, ARs)
3) Tommy Surrett (North Little Rock, AR)
4) Stacy Taylor (Jacksonville, AR)
5) Duke Palasini (Leland, MS)
6) Chad Thrash (Meridian, MS)
7) Clay Fisher (Dewitt, AR)
8) Rick Rickman (Columbus, MS)
9) Doug Showah (Indianola, MS)
10) Scott Abraham (Edwards, MS)
11) Brandon Smith(Floral, AR)
12) Cody Kierre (Beebe, AR)
13) Randy Bernard (Hazen, AR)
14) Greg Fore (Greenville, MS)
15) David Payne (Cabot, AR)
16) Rick Hearnsberger (Arkadelphia, AR)
17) Christopher Showah (Greenville, MS)
18) Scott Dedwylder (Vossburg, MS)
19) Kody Mea (Southaven, MS)
20) Joe Long (Bryant, AR)
21) Shannon Scott (Henryetta, OK)

DNS: Brian Rickman, Lynn Beach, Larry Potter

Entries: 24
Group A: Brian Rickman (14.553 seconds) Overall Quick Time
Group B: Bub McCool (14.652 seconds)
GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 Winner: Duke Palasini
Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 Winner: Rick Rickman
ROCKHARD Powder Coating Heat Race #3 Winner: Bub McCool
Woodco Inc Race #4 Winner: Tommy Surrett
Boston's Sports Bar & Restaurant B-Main Winners: NA
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Duke Palasini
Keith Craft Racing Engines Hard Luck Award: Brian Rickman
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Randy Bernard (20th-13th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Bub McCool
Leaders: Bub McCool (1-9, 28-35); Rick Rickman (10-27)
Cautions: 4
Red Flag: 0