Contact: Ben Shelton (
May 10th, 2014

Ray Moore Wins COMP Cams Super Dirt Series Slugfest at Ark-La-Tex

Vivian, Louisiana (05/10/14) – The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) presented by Lucas Oil made its second and final appearance of the 2014 season at Ark-La-Tex Speedway (Vivian, Louisiana) on Friday night, and the action once again did not disappoint as Ray Moore won a slugfest over Bub McCool to claim the $2,000 victory.

Muscle Shoals, Alabama hot shoe, Anthony Burroughs, locked into the New Vision Graphics Pole for the 40 lap feature at the 1/4 mile oval after winning his heat race and found regional standout, Ray Moore, joining him on the front row as the duo brought the twenty car field to the green flag.

It was Moore, who raced to control of the top spot in the early going as Bub McCool worked from the second row into the second position in the early laps.  While Moore managed to keep the field at bay for the first half of the race McCool began to catch the leader as the race approached the final ten circuits.  Lap 30 found McCool edging to the lead before Moore retook the top spot one lap later.  The duo exchanged the lead multiple times over the next four laps before Moore surged back to the top spot on lap 35 and went on to lead the final five laps for his first victory of 2014.  The triumph was the fifth all-time on the tour for the driver, and made him the seventh different winner in seven events in 2014 with the series.  McCool finished second with current point leader, Kyle Beard third as Tommy Surrett and Timothy Culp rounded out the top five finishers.

Anthony Burroughs won GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 with winning Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 going to Ray Moore.  Bub McCool raced to victory in ROCKHARD Powder Coating Heat Race #3. 

Clay Fisher was the victor in the Boston's Sports Bar & Restaurant b-main.  Kody Mea and Lynn Beach utilized CCSDS presented by Lucas Oil provisionals to start the finale.

Brandon Smith received the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award for advancing from the sixteenth starting spot to a sixth place finish.  Jack Sullivan claimed the Keith Craft Racing Engines Hard Luck Award after seeing engine woes discovered after heat race action force him to scratch from his second row starting spot for the feature.

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Racing Tires, Kuntz & Company, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Quarter Master, Allen Manufacturing, GRT Race Cars, Woodco, Inc., New Vision Graphics, ROCKHARD Powdercoat, Inc., Mark Martin Kia, Keith Craft Racing Engines, SRC Sampson Racing Radios, Beach Veterinary Services, Killer Coatings, MSR Marketing Services, Racing Head Service, BSB Manufacturing, Five Star Bodies, Boston's Restaurant and Sports Bar Pizza,, Schoenfeld Headers, Surrett Contracting, Powerhouse Products, and FSR Racing Products.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit .
COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – May 10th, 2014
Ark-La-Tex Speedway (Vivian, Louisiana)
Feature Results
1)Ray Moore (Haughton, LA)
2)Bub McCool (Vicksburg, MS)
3)Kyle Beard Trumann (AR)
4)Tommy Surrett (North Little Rock, AR)
5)Timothy Culp (Sheridan, AR)
6)Brandon Smith (Floral, AR)
7)Jeff Chandler (Minden, LA)
8)Clay Fisher (Dewitt, AR)
9)Patrik Daniel (Wills Point, TX)
10)Rick Hearnsberger (Arkadelphia, AR)
11)Anthony Burroughs (Muscle Shoals, AL)
12)Brett Frazier (Shreveport, LA)
13)Shannon Scott (Henryetta, OK)
14)Garrett Alberson (Las Cruces, NM)
15)Zach McMillan (Kilgore, TX)
16)Kody Mea (Southaven, MS)
17)Lynn Beach (Hensley, AR)
18)Lee Davis (Greenwood, LA)
19)Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, TX)
20)Allen Tippen (Minden, LA)

DNS: David Payne, Ronny Adams, David Payne, Jack Sullivan
Entries:  24
GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 Winner:  Anthony Burroughs
Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 Winner:  Ray Moore
ROCKHARD Powder Coating Heat Race #3 Winner: Bub McCool
Boston's Sports Bar & Restaurant B-Main Winners:  Clay Fisher
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Anthony Burroughs
Keith Craft Racing Engines Hard Luck Award: Jack Sullivan
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger:  Brandon Smith (16th-6th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Ray Moore
Leaders: Ray Moore (1-29, 31, 33, 35-40), Bub McCool (30, 32, 34)
Cautions: 4
Red Flag: 0