Contact: Ben Shelton (
September 26th, 2015

Clay Fisher Takes I-30 Speedway Win; Jack Sullivan Claims CCSDS Title

Little Rock, Arkansas (09/26/15) – The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) presented by Lucas Oil put a wrap on the 2015 season on Saturday evening with the 9th Annual Midsouth Dirt Track Championship at I-30 Speedway. Dewitt, Arkansas racer,

It would be night of firsts at the ¼ mile oval. Clay Fisher emerged victorious for the first time in his career in CCSDS competition, while Jack Sullivan claimed his first-ever, CCSDS championship.

Danny Zimmerman from Wylie, Texas earned the New Vision Graphics Pole Award for the $3,000-to-win finale with Clay Fisher starting alongside. The drop of the green flag found Zimmerman jumping to the lead, but his time at the front would only last a single lap as Fisher charged to the top spot on the second circuit.

By lap 5 Fisher enjoyed a comfortable lead with Zimmerman, Kyle Beard, Jack Sullivan, and Ronny Adams in pursuit. Over the next several circuits the battle for the runner-up spot was fantastic with a trio of racers contending for the position.

A lap 13 caution for Tommy Surrett, who slowed on the front stretch regrouped the field. Fisher led Zimmerman, Beard, Sullivan, and Adams back to the green flag. Sullivan slipped off the backstretch, causing him to fall to 5th as Adams shot to the 2nd spot ahead of Beard and Zimmerman.

Despite a late-race caution that bunched the field again, Fisher raced away from the field to claim his first win. Sullivan rebounded to finish 2nd with Beard, Adams, and Jon Mitchell completing the top five.

“We’ve been trying for several years to get one of these wins so it feels awesome to finally get over the hump,” said Clay Fisher. “Thanks to my crew, my sponsors, and my fans for their great support.”

Greenbrier, Arkansas racer, Sullivan only had to enter the event to clinch his first-career title with the series.

“Chris Ellis and his staff run a top-notch operation with this series, and it’s an honor to get the championship this season,” said Sullivan. “We had a few ups and downs, but my team and sponsors stood behind me. Without them there’s no way I could’ve won this title.”

Batesville, Arkansas racer, Gavin Landers, claimed the Kuntz & Co. Rookie of the Year title.
Danny Zimmerman won GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 with Clay Fisher winning Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2. 

The Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award went to Gavin Landers, who advanced from the 11th starting spot to a 6th place finish. Tommy Surrett was the recipient of the Wilwood Tough Break of the Race Award.

This concludes the 2015 season for the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil. The series would like to thank all of the racers, fans, crew members, and tracks for their support this year. Planning is already underway for the 2016 campaign. Keep your browsers pointed to for the latest news and updates.

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Tire South, Kuntz and Co. Racing Engines, New Vision Graphics, GRT Race Cars, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Wilwood, Allen Manufacturing, Boston's Sports Bar and Restaurant, ROCKHARD Powder Coating, Woodco, Mark Martin Automotive Group, Mid-State Golf Cars, Henryetta Ford, M&M Paint and Construction, Ronald Surrett Contracting, Tommy Surrett Trucking, Beach Veterinary Services, MSR Mafia Marketing, Sampson Racing Communications, AR Bodies, Schoenfeld Headers, and Keyser Manufacturing.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – September 26th, 2015
I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, Arkansas)
Feature Results
1) Clay Fisher (Dewitt, AR)
2) Jack Sullivan (Greenbrier, AR)
3) Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR)
4) Ronny Adams (Greenwood, LA)
5) Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, TX)
6) Gavin Landers (Batesville, AR)
7) Danny Zimmerman (Wylie, TX)
8) Austin Rettig (Sikeston, MO)
9) Brandon Smith (Floral, AR)
10) David Payne (Cabot, AR)
11) Kanyan Methvin (Yellville, AR)
12) Joseph Long (Bryant, AR)
13) Hunter Duren (Flippin, AR)
14) Lynsee Provence (North Little Rock, AR)
15) Tommy Surrett (North Little Rock, AR)
16) Eddie Provence (East End, AR)
17) Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR)

Entries:  17
GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 Winner: Danny Zimmerman
Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 Winner: Clay Fisher
Boston's Sports Bar & Restaurant B-Main Winners: NA
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Danny Zimmerman
Wilwood Tough Brake of the Race Award: Tommy Surrett
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Gavin Landers (11th-6th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Clay Fisher
Leaders: Danny Zimmerman (1); Clay Fisher (2-35)
Cautions: 2
Red Flags: 0