Contact: Ben Shelton (
May 9th, 2015

Black Ice Tamed by Bub McCool in CCSDS Competition

Columbus, Mississippi (05/09/15) – For the second-straight night the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) presented by Lucas Oil competed in a challenge event against the Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series (MSCCS) in the Magnolia State. While the venue changed, the winner did not as Vicksburg, Mississippi’s Bub McCool snared top honors in the $2,500-to-win affair.

Saturday’s action was contested at the state-of-the-art, Magnolia Motor Speedway (Columbus, Mississippi), where a stout field of forty-seven competitors entered the event.

While Fulton, Mississippi’s Eric Cooley earned the New Vision Graphics Pole Award via preliminary action, it was fellow-front-row starter, Billy Moyer, who jumped to the lead at the drop of the green flag. Moyer paced the field until lap 7, when McCool capitalized on lap traffic to seize control of the top spot. Moyer fell to second with Chad Thrash, Timothy Culp and Jimmy Cliburn in close pursuit.

The next several laps allowed McCool to stretch his advantage. However, as the race approached its midway point, the field again endured lapped traffic, which saw Moyer narrow the gap. Lap 21 found Moyer catapulting back into the top spot, and he would lead the next two laps before McCool regained control for good on lap 23.

The event’s sole caution flew on lap 24, when Brian Rickman rolled to a stop. At the time of the caution McCool led over Moyer, Thrash, Dane Dacus, Chad Thrash, and Rick Rickman.

As the green flew again McCool was able to motor away from the pack en route to the weekend sweep aboard his RBT Motorsports #57J Club 29/Jay Dickens Super Late Model. The victory was the fourth of his career with the CCSDS.

“I always love coming to Magnolia, but this place has a history of giving me fits,” noted McCool. “Tonight though the car was awesome. I have to thank my car owner, Randy Thompson, along with my crew, fans, and sponsors for their great support.”

Billy Moyer paced the field in qualifying with a 13.379 second lap around the 3/8 mile oval.


Eric Cooley won GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 with Billy Moyer winning Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2.  Eric HIckerson raced to victory in Hoosier Tire Heat Race #3, while won Bub McCool Lucas Oil Heat Race #4. 

The Boston’s Sports Bar and Restaurants B-Mains were topped by Clay Fisher and Chad McCool.

The Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award went to Clay Fisher for advancing twelve spots from his 18th starting position. Allen Murray was the recipient of the Wilwood Tough Break of the Race Award for falling victim to a melee in his heat race, while in a transfer spot, and then seeing an engine expire, while running in a transfer spot in the b-main.


The CCSDS competitors will now enjoy the rest of May free from racing action. Next on tap will be the 5th Annual Rockabilly 45 at I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, Arkansas), which will be held June 5th-6th. Friday night’s program will be highlighted by a $1,500-to-win/$200-to-start feature, while Saturday will include a $3,000-to-win/$300-to-start feature. For more information on the facility, please visit .

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Tire South, Kuntz and Co. Racing Engines, New Vision Graphics, GRT Race Cars, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Wilwood, Allen Manufacturing, Boston's Sports Bar and Restaurant, ROCKHARD Powder Coating, Woodco, Mark Martin Automotive Group, Mid-State Golf Cars, Henryetta Ford, M&M Paint and Construction, Ronald Surrett Contracting, Tommy Surrett Trucking, Beach Veterinary Services, MSR Mafia Marketing, Sampson Racing Communications, AR Bodies, Schoenfeld Headers, and Keyser Manufacturing.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – May 9 th, 2015
Magnolia Motor Speedway (Columbus, Mississippi)

Feature Results
1) Bub McCool (Vicksburg, Mississippi)
2) Billy Moyer (Batesville, Arkansas)
3) Dane Dacus (Lakeland, Tennessee)
4) Chad Thrash (Meridian, Mississippi)
5) Rick Rickman (Columbus, Mississippi)
6) Clay Fisher (Dewitt, Arkansas)
7) Neil Baggett (Shannon, Mississippi)
8) Jimmy Cliburn (Star, Mississippi)
9) Eric Cooley (Fulton, Mississippi)
10) Timothy Culp (West Monroe, Louisiana)
11) Shannon Scott (Henryetta, Oklahoma)
12) Chandler Petty (Cabot, Arkansas)
13) Kyle Beard (Trumann, Arkansas)
14) Chad McCool (Columbus, Mississippi)
15) Leon Henderson (Laurel, Mississippi)
16) Scott Abraham (Edwards , Mississippi)
17) Wendell Wallace (Batesville, Arkansas)
18) Brian Rickman (Columbus, Mississippi)
19) Eric Hickerson (Linden, Tennessee)
20) Tommy Surrett (North Little Rock, Arkansas)
21) Jack Sullivan (Greenbrier, Arkansas)
22) Robert Baker (Bryant, Arkansas)
23) Scott Dedwylder (Vossburg, Mississippi)
24) Ross Camponovo (Clarksdale, Mississippi)

DNS:  Austin Arnold, Allen Murray, Brent Barrett, Jason Cliburn, Kyle Cummings, Billy Moyer Jr., Jeremy Broadus, Jamie Elam, Clint Logan, Phillip Gibson, Jimmy Anderson, Howard Means, Jamie Tollison, David Payne, Billy Moyer Jr., Hunter Rasdon, Roman Ponds, Mark Dotson, Jason Brock, Brandon Smith, Garrett Alberson, Brett White, Casey FIndley

Entries: 47
Group A Top Qualifier: Billy Moyer Jr. (13.557 seconds)
Group B Top Qualifier (and Overall): Billy Moyer (13.379 seconds)
GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 Winner: Eric Cooley
Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 Winner: Billy Moyer
Hoosier Tire South Heat Race #3 Winner: Eric Hickerson
Lucas Oil Heat Race #4 Winner: Bub McCool
Boston's Sports Bar & Restaurant B-Main Winners: Chad McCool, Clay Fisher
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Eric Cooley
Wilwood Tough Brake of the Race Award: Allen Murray
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Clay Fisher (18th-6th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Bub McCool
Leaders: Billy Moyer (1-6, 21-22), Bub McCool (7-20, 23-40)
Cautions: 1
Red Flag: 0