Contact: Ben Shelton (
May 8th, 2015

History Made by Bub McCool at Greenville Speedway

Greenville, Mississippi (05/08/15) – History was made on Friday evening as the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) presented by Lucas Oil went head-to-head with the Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series (MSCCS) for the first time ever in a showdown at Greenville Speedway (Greenville, Mississippi).
When the checkered flag dropped on the night it was Bub McCool scoring the $2,000 win by a matter of inches.

On a night plagued by rain, Brian Rickman and Duke Palasini brought the field to the green flag for the 40 lap finale. Rickman snagged the lead at the drop of the green flag and paced the field until lap 11, when the first caution flew for his brother, Rick Rickman, who slowed.

At the time of the caution Brian Rickman was followed by Robert Baker, Palasini, and tenth starting, Bub McCool.

The feature would be slowed once more by a caution period with Rickman maintaining the lead as McCool raced his way into the second spot. The race endured a long green-flag run to close the finale, and this set the stage for McCool to reel in Rickman in lapped traffic.

On the final lap McCool made his move on Rickman, and won the drag race to the checkered flag to claim the win by a matter of inches. Rickman, Kyle Beard, Robert Baker, and Duke Palasini rounded out the top five finishers. The victory was the third CCSDS triumph of McCool’s career.

Local standout, Duke Palasini from Leland, Mississippi blazed to fast time honors in qualifying with a 14.453 second lap around the ¼ mile oval.

Garry Alberson won GRT Race Cars Qualifier #1 with Bub McCool winning Allen Manufacturing Qualifier #2.  The Lucas Oil Dash was won by Brian Rickman

The Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award went to Jack Sullivan, who advanced from the 22nd starting spot to an 11th place finish. The recipient of the Wilwood Tough Break of the Race Award was Gavin Landers, who saw his weekend come to an early end, when he was collected in an accident on a rain-soaked track in his qualifier.

Saturday evening, May 9th will find the CCSDS sanctioning their first-ever event at the state-of-the-art, Magnolia Motor Speedway (Columbus, Mississippi) as they once again go into battle against the MSCCS racers. The 3/8 mile oval, known as the “black ice,” will play host to a $2,500-to-win, 40 lap program. NeSmith Late Models, Street Stocks, and Factory Stocks will be part of the program. Driver’s meeting is at 6:00 pm with hot laps at 6:30 p.m. For more information on the event, please visit .

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Tire South, Kuntz and Co. Racing Engines, New Vision Graphics, GRT Race Cars, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Wilwood, Allen Manufacturing, Boston's Sports Bar and Restaurant, ROCKHARD Powder Coating, Woodco, Mark Martin Automotive Group, Mid-State Golf Cars, Henryetta Ford, M&M Paint and Construction, Ronald Surrett Contracting, Tommy Surrett Trucking, Beach Veterinary Services, MSR Mafia Marketing, Sampson Racing Communications, AR Bodies, Schoenfeld Headers, and Keyser Manufacturing.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series Vs. MSCCS – May 8th, 2015
Greenville Speedway (Greenville, Mississippi)
Feature Results
1) Bub McCool (Vicksburg, Mississippi)
2) Brian Rickman (Columbus, Mississippi)
3) Kyle Beard (Trumann, Arkansas)
4) Robert Baker (Bryant, Arkansas)
5) Duke Palasini (Leland, Mississippi)
6) Chad Thrash (Meridian, Mississippi)
7) Garrett Alberson (Las Cruces, New Mexico)
8) Tommy Surrett (North Little Rock, Arkansas)
9) Clay Fisher (Dewitt, Arkansas)
10) BJ Robinson (Shreveport, Louisiana)
11) Jack Sullivan (Greenbrier, Arkansas)
12) Kyle Cummings (Sibley, Louisiana)
13) Shannon Scott (Henryetta, Oklahoma)
14) Doug Showah (Indianola, Mississippi)
15) Ross Camponovo (Clarksdale, Mississippi)
16) Brent Barrett (Cleveland, Mississippi)
17) Brett White (Kosciusko, Mississippi)
18) Chandler Petty (Cabot, Arkansas)
19) Clint Logan (Philadelphia, Mississippi)
20) Bo Gordon (Shaw, Mississippi)
21) Rick Rickman (Columbus, Mississippi)
22) Timothy Culp (Sheridan, Arkansas)
23) Neil Baggett (Shannon, Mississippi)
24) Bubba Harrison Cleveland, Mississippi)

DNS: Casey Findley, David Payne, Scott Abraham, Mark Dodson, Allen Murray, Austin Arnold, Brandon Smith, Ryan Colby, Gavin Landers

Entries:  33
Group A Fast Qualifier (and overall): Duke Palasini (14.453 seconds)
Group B Fast Qualifer: Brian Rickman (14.586 seconds)
GRT Race Cars Qualifier #1 Winner: Garrett Alberson
Allen Manufacturing Qualifier #2 Winner: Bub McCool
Lucas Oil Dash Winner: Brian Rickman
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Brian Rickman
Wilwood Tough Brake of the Race Award: Gavin Landers
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Jack Sullivan (22nd-11th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Bub McCool
Leaders: Brian Rickman (1-39), Bub McCool 40
Cautions: 2